
 

Beneficial Information to Consumers 
Summary of Registration Law (R.I.G.L. Title 5 Chapter 65) 

            
Contractor Registration 
     Rhode Island state law requires anyone who is in the business of home construction, alterations, remodeling, or 
repair to a residential structure to be registered with the state.  This includes partnerships, corporations, and self 
employed individuals, whether working by the hour, week, job, or “cost plus”, whether by a written contract or oral 
agreement.  The law also applies to anyone advertising, bidding, or otherwise offering or arranging to do or have 
such work performed including painting, roofing, floor covering, framing, finish carpentry, and many more building 
specialties.  Violations of the law can result in penalties of up to $10,000.00 per offense as well as criminal 
prosecution for non-compliance of final orders issued by the board. 
 
• Does the contract have the contractor’s registration number listed? 
 
• What are the terms of cancellation?  Contracts entered into must contain a notice of rescission as stipulated in 

all pertinent R.I. consumer protection laws, pursuant to RIGL 5-65-3 (p). If signed outside of the place of 
business,  Rhode Island General Law 6-28-4, clearly states that no agreement of the  buyer in a door-to-door 
sale shall be effective unless it is signed and dated by the buyer and unless it contains the following in ten (10) 
point bold face type or larger directly above the space reserved in the agreement for the signature of the buyer: 
Notice to buyer: (1) Do not sign this agreement if any of the spaces intended for the agreed terms to the extent 
of then available information are left blank.  (2) You are entitled to a copy of this agreement at the time you 
sign it.  (3) You may at any time pay off the full unpaid balance due under this agreement, and in so doing you 
may be entitled to receive a partial rebate of the finance and insurance charges.  (4) The seller has no right to 
unlawfully enter your premises or commit any breach of the peace to repossess goods purchased under this 
agreement.  (5) You may cancel this agreement if is has not been signed at the main office or a branch office of 
the seller, provided you notify the seller at his or her main office or branch office shown in the agreement by 
registered or certified mail, which shall be posted not later than midnight of the third calendar day after the day 
on which the buyer signs the agreement, excluding Sunday and any holiday on which regular mail deliveries are 
not made.  (see the RIGL 6-28 for more information regarding this law)  

 
• Insurance! The Rhode Island contractors’ registration law requires contractors to maintain a minimum of 

$500,000.00 in liability insurance.  In addition, contractors with employees are required to maintain workers’ 
compensation insurance.  Insist that a current certificate of the company’s insurance policy be sent directly to 
you from their insurance carrier / agent with your name and address on it listing you as a certificate holder 
before any work begins. 

 
• What are the payment terms?  Payments should be made pursuant to the terms of the written contract.  

Consider and question the amount of the deposit which can vary depending on type of work. (i.e. Special orders, 
etc.) 

 
• What is the time frame? Provide start date, finish date?  Maybe a reward or penalty clause should be included 

if time is of the essence. 
 
• Is there an arbitration clause in the contract? Who is paying for that service?  Read the fine print and make 

sure you know the terms. 
 
• Permits?  Is this included in your contract, or are you taking care of it? This is for your safety! 
 
• Contracts:  All contracts exceeding $1,000.00 in value must be in writing. 
 
• Disclaimer:  The above information is provided by the board pursuant to 5-65-3 and does not encompass all the 

recent amendments to the general law, for additional information please contact the Board or visit our website. 
 


