About the Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board

e Established in 1989 by the RI General Assembly

e Consists of 17 Board Members

e Operates within the Department of Administration, under the direction of George W.
Whalen, Executive Director

Jurisdiction of the Board

e Regulates by registration — All contractors: residential & commercial
e Regulates by licensing — commercial roofers

e Regulates by licensing — home inspectors

e Regulates by licensing — underground utility contractors

e Regulates by licensing — well drillers, pump installer contractors

Dispute Resolution Process
e A $25.00 processing fee is required to file a claim

Claims heard by the Board include:

e Property owner against registered/licensed or non-registered/ non-licensed contractors
for: alleged negligence, improper work, breach of contract, contract disputes or
release of a mechanics lien.

e Contractor against registered/licensed subcontractor for: alleged negligence, improper
work, breach of contract or release of a mechanics lien.

e Employee against contractor.

Enforcement Procedures Include:

e Complaints against non-registered/ non-licensed contractors, fines and penalties
issued for advertising, insurance, and bond violations and violations of statutory
provisions and/or rules and regulations.

e Violations of Rhode Island General Laws 885-65, 5-65.1, 5-65.2, 5-65.3, and 5-73.

Criminal Prosecutions

e Violations of final orders and non-registered/non-licensed contractor complaints may
be prosecuted by the RI Department of Attorney General in accordance with Rhode
Island General Law 8§ 5-65-19.

Agency Appeals

e After a hearing, a proposed order is issued which can be appealed to the full Board.
After Board has issued a final order it may be appealed to the RI Superior Court and
finally to the Rl Supreme Court.

Contact the CRLB via mail at: One Capitol Hill — 2" Floor, Providence, Rl 02908
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Property owner, contractor or
contractor employee who wants
to file a claim with the CRLB.
(see contact information at

bottom)

What types of work are
covered?

Work on Residential and
Commercial Property

Who Can File a Claim?

Property owners
Registered/licensed
contractors against
registered/licensed
contractors
Employees against
registered/licensed
contractor

What types of Claims can be

filed?
[ ]

Negligent Work
Contract Dispute
Improper Work
Breach of Contract
Mechanic Liens
Materials

What does it cost?

325 processing fee to file
a claim

Period for filing

1 year from end of new
construction or date work
ceased on other types of
work.

Time frame extended to
two years if contractor is
informed in writing of
issue within the 1% year.

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board Dispute Resolution Process

Claim form is filled out by
claimant and includes '
copies of contracts,
dates, photos and other
information

CLAIM INITIATION
Claim notification is sent to
parties involved.
Assigned a claim number
Assigned to an Investigator

A 4

Claim is mailed or
delivered to CRLB

Investigation conducted-Report Issued
Verification of Violation of Standards
Try to get work completed or reach a settlement.

CLAIM INVESTIGATION
Both Parties Contacted

CRLB reviews
the complaint.

Is Contractor
Registered/
Licensed?

Violation of up to $5,000.00 first offence or $10,000
for second offence can be issued and a copy of the
complaint sent to the contractor. A copy of the
violation is sent to the claimant.

Yes

Full Hearing Held
Board can order monetary
damages, completion of work,
fines and action on registration/
license.

Waiver of Jury
Trial Form
signed by both
parties?

No

Settlement
reached?

Claim Disposed

Actions Board can take without

Waiver of Jury Trial: Decision made and proposed
Not signed by claimant: | order issued within 45 days.
Can only act on registrations/ license or 7| There is 20-day period in which
fine the contractor, no orders for an appeal to the full Board can be
restitution or repair can be issued. filed.

Not signed by contractor:

CRLB can order performance of work no
monetary adjustments, if contractor is
registered/ licensed.

CRLB can take action on registration
status and assess fines, if registered/
licensed and only if the claimant allows
the contractor back to complete the work.
Fines may be assessed up to the value
of the contract.

HEARING SCHEDULED

20 day advanced notice of
hearing is sent to all parties.

Hearing Held:
Issue Resolved
or Proposed
Order Issued.

Appeal of
violation
“Respondent”

Final Order issued. Possible <

A 4

HEARING PROCEDINGS
Hearing Officer hears the matter and listens to
all parties involved.
Burden of proof is on the claimant to prove
allegations.
Claimant should provide:
Witnesses
Estimates from registered/licensed
contractors, photos, contracts, videos, etc.
Either party may obtain legal counsel.

Criminal Prosecution if not
complied with.

Contact the CRLB via mail at: One Capitol Hill — 2" Floor, Providence, Rl 02908

A 4

Final Order Issued
Served in hand to non-prevailing
party via sheriff/constable. Failure
to comply with a final order may be
criminally prosecuted by the
Attorney General’'s Office.

Board appeal
Filed? $20 to
appeal

Appeal made to full Board. Matter will be heard at the next monthly meeting with
time available. The Full Board can: Dismiss, Remand, Modify, or Uphold the
hearing officer's decision, or Settle Case. After Board hears the matter, a final
order is issued (usually issued in 7 to 10 days).

4 '

v

Final Order Issued by Full
Board

Served in hand to non-
prevailing party or attorney via
sheriff/ constable. Failure to
comply with a final order may
be criminally prosecuted by the
Attorney General’s Office.

Appeal Filed in
Superior Court
within 30 days
pursuant to the
AP.A*

Appeal to Full Board

Appeal filed in the Supreme Court * Administrative Procedure Act

Phone (401) 222-1270, Fax: (401) 222-1940, Website www.crb.ri.gov
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