RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |
× Effective 6/24/20- All New Registrations and Licenses will be processed using our new online platform, Viewpoint Cloud. See below for more information.

Contractor Registration

Who Must be Registered?

Rhode Island law requires any person or entity who is in the business of commercial construction, home construction, alterations, remodeling, or repair to residents to be registered with the State of Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board.

  • Any person who undertakes, offers to undertake, or submits a bid to do work as a contractor on a structure, or arranges to have work done on a structure.
  • Any partnership, corporation, or joint venture who undertakes, offers to undertake, or submits a bid to do work as a contractor on a structure, or arranges to have work done on a structure.
  • The following subcontractors who are not employees of a registered contractor must obtain a registration certificate prior to conducting any work: (1) Carpenters, including finish carpenters and framers; (2) Siding installers; (3) Roofers; (4) Foundation installers, including concrete installers and form installers; (5) Drywall installers; (6) Plasterers; (7) Insulation installers; (8) Ceramic tile installers; (9) Floor covering installers; (10) Swimming pool installers, both above ground and in ground; (11) Masons, including chimney installers, fireplace installers, and general masonry erectors. This list is not all inclusive and shall not be limited to the above-referenced contractors.

Relevant Laws and Regulations


Process to renew your State contractor registration (applies to contractors who were previously registered but have now expired)

  1. If you will be performing work on any Residential Structures, you are required to complete (2.5) hours of Continuing Education. Please visit the Continuing Education section of our website and upload a certificate of completion along with your Renewal form. No education is required for Commercial registration only.

    If your registration has lapsed for more than one (1) year, you are required to take in-class, Pre-Registration Courses. A listing of these courses can be found on the Pre-Registration Education section of our website.
  2. $500,000 certificate of liability insurance indicating R.I.C.R.L.B. as the certificate holder.
  3. The Contractor Registration Fee is $150.00 for a one-year renewal. There is an additional $50.00 late fee if your Registration is expired. You can pay this fee via Credit Card, Debit Card, or e-Check using the Viewpoint Cloud platform. If you choose to mail a check, it must be made payable to RICRLB and mailed to:
    RICRLB
    560 Jefferson Boulevard
    Warwick, RI 02886.

    Please include your Viewpoint Application Number on the check itself. If paying by check and not e-Check, please allow up to 10 business days for processing. Please note that RICRLB does not accept cash.
  4. If your company is a corporation or Limited Liability Company, you must possess a valid business registration with the Rhode Island Secretary of State. You will be required to upload your Business ID# in Viewpoint.

Online Renewal Instructions:

  • To start your renewal application, please go to: http://bit.ly/ricrlb812020
  • If you have a Viewpoint Cloud account already from pulling permits in municipalities, please provide that email address in the form.
  • Within 1-2 business days, please use that email address to log in to:
    https://ri-crlb.viewpointcloud.com/login . If you do not, you will receive an email from noreply@viewpointcloud.com to activate your account at the email address you provide.
  • Once you log in, please click on My Account in the top right:

    My Account
  • You’ll see a draft of your application right in the main dashboard screen:

    Application List
  • Click on that application to start to submit your renewal.

Registration requirements for new contractors in RI

  1. Five (5) hours of Pre-Education Courses are required for new applicants performing work on any Residential Structures. Click here for information regarding pre-education courses. No education is required for Commercial registration only.
  2. $500,000 certificate of liability insurance indicating R.I.C.R.L.B. as certificate holder.
  3. The Contractor Registration Fee is $150 for a one-year renewal. You can pay this fee via Credit Card, Debit Card, or e-Check using the Viewpoint Cloud platform. If you choose to mail a check, it must be made payable to RICRLB and mailed to:
    RICRLB
    560 Jefferson Boulevard
    Warwick, RI 02886.

    Please include your Viewpoint Application Number on the check itself. If paying by check and not e-Check, please allow up to 10 business days for processing. Please note that RICRLB does not accept cash.
  4. If your company is a corporation or Limited Liability Company, you must possess a valid business registration with the Rhode Island Secretary of State. You will be required to upload your Business ID# in Viewpoint.
  5. Apply Online using Our New Online Platform.

Out-of-State Resident Applicants


In addition to the Instructions above, all Out-of-State applicants require an Agent of Service registered in Rhode Island.

No registration shall be issued to a non-resident applicant until he or she has filed with the Board a power of attorney constituting and appointing a registered agent (an attorney whose office is located within the boundaries of the State of R.I. or a registered agent listed with the R.I. Secretary of State) upon whom all processes in any action or legal proceeding against him or her may be served, and in the power of attorney agrees that any lawful process against him or her which may have been served upon his or her registered agent is of the same force and effect as if served on the non-resident applicant, and that the force continues irrevocably until such time as the Board has been duly notified in writing of any change.